latest articles

Hockey Bihar trashes Hockey Jammu & Kashmir 10-2 in Sub-jr Men's (Div -B)

Hockey Bihar wins over Hockey Jammu & Kashmir 10-2. It was a highly contesting match where both the teams were looking at scoring the first goal. Anand Kumar Bara of Hockey Bihar was the star player of the match as he supported his team with a total of five goals in favour of his team.

It was in the 18th minute that Hockey Bihar’s Sunil Mundu struck an opening goal through a field effort. The second goal for Hockey Madhya Pradesh came through Bhaskar Singh in 26th minute to take a 2-0 lead over Hockey Jammu & Kashmir. Just when the first half was in its last minutes, Hockey Jammu & Kashmir made full use of a penalty stroke when Prabjot Singh converted the first goal for his team in the 33rd minute. With the support Anand Kumar Bara, Hockey Bihar notched a 34th minute field goal to take the lead at 3-1 by the end of the first half.

In the second half of the game, Hockey Bihar displayed some quick moves as its excellent player Anand Kumar Bara added 4 goals to the team’s tally. Keeping their hopes alive, Hockey Jammu & Kashmir bounced back into the game and scored the second goal coming from the stick of Captain Ramandeep Singh in the 54th minute to reduce the margin to 2-8. But Hockey Bihar proved their dominance by adding 2 more goals to their account to advance their lead to 10-2 and won the match against Hockey Jammu & Kashmir.

Hockey Punjab Crowned Champions Of 8th Hockey India Senior Men National Championship 2018

The Final of the 8th Hockey India Senior Men National Championship 2018 (A Division) took place here today at the Padma Shri Mohammad Shahid Synthetic Hockey Stadium which saw Hockey Punjab being crowned as the Champions of the competition.

Hockey India Names 18-Member Indian Women’s Team For The Gold Coast 2018 XXI Commonwealth Games

New Delhi, 14 March 2018: Hockey India on Wednesday named the 18-member Indian Women’s Hockey Team for the forthcoming Gold Coast 2018 XXI Commonwealth Games to begin on April 4. The Indian team is grouped in Pool A along with Malaysia, Wales, England and South Africa and will begin their campaign on April 5 against Wales. The 18-member Team will be Captained by ace striker Rani while experienced goalkeeper Savita will shoulder the duties of Vice-Captain as she makes a return to the team after having been rested for the recently concluded tour of South Korea.

27-year-old Savita will be accompanied by Rajani Etimarpu in goal while the defence unit is packed with experience and grit as Deepika, Sunita Lakra, Deep Grace Ekka, Gurjit Kaur and Sushila Chanu Pukhrambam will look to keep out the opposition’s attacks. Monika, Namita Toppo, Nikki Pradhan, Neha Goyal and Lilima Minz will form the midfield while Rani, Vandana Katariya, Lalremsiami, Navjot Kaur, Navneet Kaur and Poonam Rani, who returned to the squad during South Korea tour, will form India’s attack.

The Indian team is currently ranked No. 10 in the world and will face stiff competition from higher ranked teams such as World No. 2 England, World No. 4 New Zealand and World No. 5 hosts Australia. However, Chief Coach Harendra Singh is confident that the determined team can cause huge upsets on the back of winning the five-match series in South Korea. “We have played with the same set of players for a long period so the players have formed a great understanding between themselves which was evident during our 2017 Asia Cup triumph. The team also performed well in South Korea to beat a higher-ranked side and we will be looking to cause a few upsets and aim for the podium as the morale is high going into the prestigious Gold Coast 2018 XXI Commonwealth Games,” he said. The Coach also welcomed the inclusion of the experienced goalkeeper Savita, who is currently in Oman undergoing a Goalkeeping coaching course. The Junior Men’s World Cup-winning coach said, “Savita is an integral part of the team and brings a lot of experience in goal for us. She has played over 200 matches for her country and has performed in crucial matches of big tournaments. Therefore, it is good to have her back in the team as she helps the defensive and offensive players as well by imparting her expertise.”

The Indian Women’s Hockey team infamously won the Gold Medal at the 2002 Commonwealth Games in England after defeating the hosts 3-2 after extra-time in the Final match, and won the Silver Medal in the subsequent 2006 Commonwealth Games in Australia as they lost in the Final to the hosts. However, the team has only managed to finish 5th in the 2010 and 2014 editions of the quadrennial tournament. But skipper Rani is confident that her team can repeat the feat of 2002 and 2006 in Australia. The 23-year-old said, “We go into the tournament in good form after winning the series in South Korea and while we have only finished fifth in the two previous occasions, this time we will look to finish on the podium as we have a great set of players with a mixture of experience and youth. The team’s hunger to win will certainly be a key factor in us performing well at the Games.”

Please find attached team photo and schedule. Please note that Savita is on a goalkeeping coaching course in Oman, therefore the team photo consists of only 17 players.

Squad: Goalkeepers

1. Savita (VC) 2. Rajani Etimarpu


3. Deepika 4. Sunita Lakra 5. Deep Grace Ekka 6. Gurjit Kaur 7. Sushila Chanu Pukhrambam


8. Monika 9. Namita Toppo 10. Nikki Pradhan 11. Neha Goyal 12. Lilima Minz


13. Rani (C) 14. Vandana Katariya 15. Lalremsiami 16. Navjot Kaur 17. Navneet Kaur 18. Poonam Rani

24 August 2020

Bihar organized a celebration of Olympic Day 2020

As per direction of Hockey India, Hockey Bihar organized two days quiz contest with maintaining full Social distancing as per the guidelines of Hockey India, Central  and State Governments for Girls and Boys on 22nd and 23rd June 2020  among some Hockey players.

At a time when the whole world has been witnessing a pandemic like Covid- 19, Hockey Bihar organized a celebration of Olympic Day 2020 with the aim of energizing all the players and to revive the history of Indian pride who won the 1980 Hockey Gold Medal. 

Sixteen contestants participated in each group of girls and boys in this competition held at Panchdeep Bhawan Magistrate, Colony, Patna. Laxmi Kumari, Suruti Kumari and Pooja Kumari secured first, second and third in the girls group respectively. Anuj Raj, Rahul Kumar and Sambhu Kumar secured first ,second and third position in the boys group respectively. All the winning contestants were honoured by Shri Kamal Nopani CAIT Chairman, Shri Saurabh Singh COO Futuring Sports and Shri Abhishek Agrawal Social Worker. Hockey Bihar, Convener Shri Rabbi Roushan gave thanks to all guests and participants.